Meet The DC Team: Scott

Name: Scott Hodson

Number of years at DC: 3 years

Title: Landscape Architect (in-training)

Where are you from? Lafayette, IN

Where did you got to school? Purdue University

Do you have any pets? What are they like? I have a black Lab named Luna. Great laid back personality and temperament. She does not mind kids climbing and sitting on her. She loves to catch bubbles in her mouth.

What's one thing you can't live without? Family. My wife and two kids are very important to me. I could give up anything else in life to keep our family strong.

Where is the farthest you have traveled? Northern Alaska. My wife Melissa and I took this trip back in summer of 2004. Little did we know it would be our last for quite a while because we found out she was pregnant soon after the trip. It was amazing to see true wilderness where wildlife is preserved and roads are few.

What's your favorite food? Fondue. Favorite restaurant is The Melting Pot. We have two pots at home and have customized recipes for cheese, meat and chocolate fondue. If it is my wedding anniversary you know where to find me.

What's your favorite part of working at Design Concepts? DC provides opportunities to work on multiple teams in a meaningful manner. There is freedom to express interest in certain realms and pursue those aspirations. It is not the type of firm that manages from the top down in a pyramid scheme. DC has the reputation that it is capable of winning a great project. Working in a creative and fun office culture. Most DC projects get built.

What would you do with $1 million? Pay off all of my debts would be priority number 1. Then I would buy a house for my parents so that they could retire and move out to Colorado. Since I have not done much travelling outside of the U.S. I would take some time to travel around the world. I have always wanted to see the Himalayan Region.

If you could be a professional athlete, what sport would you play? I grew up in Indiana. Enough said. Basketball is a major part of the Midwest culture. We had a lighted 30’x50’ pole in the barn with a concrete floor and a basketball hoop. I hosted pick-up games most days after school. My hometown was not quite 2 hours from Chicago. I was a teenager when Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls won 6 championships.

What inspires you? Nature is a spectacular thing. I love hiking and backpacking, which is why I moved to Colorado in the first place. To get away from people and out into beautiful outdoor environments is inspiring on many levels. I am part of a volunteer group called Poudre Wilderness Volunteers which enables me to get out and enjoy wilderness while giving back to the community by educating people about the national forest.

What's one totally random fact about yourself? I was the first person under 18 years of age to ride more than 1,000 miles in the Wabash River Cycle Club. As a member of the club, each organized ride accumulated miles over the course of a year, from January to January. I logged more than 3,500 total miles for that entire year.